Main page

Dieselpunk Art

Deutsche Version


Dieselpunk - Just what is it?

Dieselpunk is a genre of retrofuturism in art, literature, fashion, design, film, and music, that blends the aesthetics of the 1920s to 1940s (the diesel age) into modern lifestyle, or follows an alternative history approach in art projects in the sense of 'a past that never was', often in conjunction with science fiction elements.

The following picture, which was made by Midjourney as an illustration for a forum article, shows a typical dieselpunk scene:

Dieselpunk car driver

One of the most famous online dieselpunk sites is the award-winning Metropius art project by Australian film maker Dan Macarthur. It also runs a Discord server for all folks interested in dieselpunk.

With kind permission by the makers of metropius, I created some pieces of my special kind of railway art by blending model railways scenes into virtual environments made from edited screenshots of the Metropius universe.

The picture below is linked with a Flickr album on these pictures. The pictures are also to be found in a gallery on Deviantart.


Dieselpunk City AI Art Project

Dieselpunk City is a series of film noir inspired pictures created by Midjourney showing street and railroad scenes in a fictitious dieselpunk city that resembles the atmosphere of a 1930s Chicago. Originally, only 12 pictures were planned. Surprised by the overwhelming attention that series attracted on some art platforms with selected pictures even going viral, more pictures will follow.

For the full series, see this album on Flickr or this gallery on Deviantart.

Main page

Hauptseite

Dieselpunk-Kunst

English version


Dieselpunk - Versuch einer Definition

Dieselpunk ist eine Spielart des Retrofuturismus in Kunst, Literatur, Design, Mode, Film und Musik, die die Ästhetik der 1920er bis 1940er Jahre (dem Diesel-Zeitalter) in den modernen Lifestyle integriert oder in der künstlerischen Umsetzung durch Anreicherung mit Science-Fiction-Elementen im Sinne einer alternativen Geschichtserzählung neu interpretiert.

Das folgende, als Illustration eines Forenbeitrags mit Midjourney erstellte Bild zeigt eine typische Dieselpunk-Szene.

Dieselpunk car driver

Eine der bekanntesten Dieselpunk-Seiten im Internet ist das preisgekrönte Metropius-Projekt des australischen Filmemachers Dan Macarthur. Dort gibt es auch einen Discord-Server für alle Dieselpunk-Fans.

Mit freundlicher Genehmigung der Macher von Metropius habe ich einige Bilder kreiert, in denen Eisenbahnmodelle durch virtuelle Welten fahren, für die Screenshots aus dem Metropius-Universum verwendet wurden.

Das unten stehende Bild ist mit einem Flickr-Album zu diesen Bildern verlinkt. Die Bilder sind ebenfalls in einer Galerie auf Deviantart zu finden.


Dieselpunk City - ein KI-Kunstprojekt

Dieselpunk City ist eine Serie von mit der KI-Engine Midjourney erstellten und durch den Stil des Film noir inspirierten Bildern, die Straßen- und Eisenbahnszenen in einer fiktiven Stadt zeigen, deren Dieselpunk-Atmosphäre an das Chicago der 1930er Jahre erinnert. Ursprünglich waren nur 12 Bilder geplant. Wegen des großen Zuspruchs, den dieses Projekt auf einigen Plattformen fand, einzelne Motive gingen regelrecht viral, wird diese Serie aber durch weitere Motive ergänzt.

Die ganze Serie gibt es in einem Album auf Flickr und in einer Galerie auf Deviantart.

Hauptseite